Menu

Clinic contact information


Consultants & Medical Team

Professor Kate Bushby
Professor of Neuromuscular Genetics
Consultant Clinical Geneticist
kate.bushby@ncl.ac.uk

Professor Volker Straub
The Harold Macmillan Chair of Medicine
Consultant in Neuromuscular Genetics and Paediatrics
volker.straub@ncl.ac.uk

Professor Hanns Lochmüller
Chair of Experimental Myology
Consultant in Neuromuscular Genetics
hanns.lochmuller@ncl.ac.uk

Dr Michela Guglieri
Honorary Consultant in Neuromuscular Genetics
Senior Research Associate – Clinical Trials
michela.guglieri@ncl.ac.uk

Dr Teresinha Evangelista
Clinical Research Associate
teresinha.evangelista@ncl.ac.uk

Dr Antonio Atalaia
Senior Research Associate
antonio.atalaia@ncl.ac.uk

Dr Marta Bertoli
Clinical Research Associate – Clinical Trials
marta.bertoli@ncl.ac.uk

Dr Elizabeth Harris
Clinical Research Associate – MDC Fellow
elizabeth.harris@ncl.ac.uk

Dr Eugen Strehle
Honorary Consultant in Neuromuscular Genetics
strehle@doctors.org.uk

Dr Chiara Marini Bettolo
Specialty Trust Doctor
chiara.bettolo@nuth.nhs.uk

 

Nurse Specialists

Gail Eglon & Louise Hastings
Neuromuscular Genetics
gail.eglon@ncl.ac.uk
louise.hastings@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel : 0191 241 8864
Tel : 0191 241 8736

Ruth Wake
Research Neuromuscular Nurse
ruth.wake@nuth.nhs.uk

 

Specialist Care Advisor

Edwina Perkins
edwina.perkins@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel : 0191 241 8761

 

Clinical Trials Coordinators

Becky Davis, Gillian Kenyon & Michael Grieves
becky.davis@ncl.ac.uk
gillian.kenyon@ncl.ac.uk
michael.grieves@ncl.ac.uk
Tel : 0191 241 8649

Secretarial Staff

Anne Nicholson
Secretary
anne.nicholson@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel : 0191 241 8757

Jacqui Stephenson
Secretary
jacqui.stephenson@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel : 0191 241 8762

Karen Pryke
NSCT Secretary
karen.pryke@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel : 0191 241 8768

Susan Robinson
NSCT Administrator MIU Lab
susan.robinson@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel: 0191 282 0841

Ann Nicholson
NSCT Data Clark / Admin Support
ann.nicholson@nuth.nhs.uk

Kath Stonehouse
Secretary to Prof Straub at North Tees, Hartlepool & Stockton Clinics
kath.stonehouse@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel : 01642 624 250

 

Physiotherapy Team

Please contact on 0191 241 8756

Dr Michelle Eagle
Consultant Physiotherapist
michelle.eagle@ncl.ac.uk

Geraldine Bailey
Clinical Specialist Neuromuscular Physiotherapist
geraldine.bailey@nuth.nhs.uk

Dr Anna Mayhew
Consultant Research Physiotherapist 
anna.mayhew@ncl.ac.uk

Michelle McCallum
Physiotherapy Technical Instructor
michelle.mccallum@nuth.nhs.uk

Meredith James
Research physiotherapist 
meredith.james@ncl.ac.uk

Robert Muni Lofra
Physiotherapist
robert@muni.cat

Other Specialists you may meet include

 

Neurogenetics

Professor Patrick Chinnery
Professor of Neurogenetics & Honorary Consultant NeurologistInstitute of Genetic Medicine
Centre for Life
Tel : 0191 241 8611

Professor Rita Horvath
Senior Lecturer & Honorary Consultant in Neurogenetics
Institute of Genetic Medicine
Tel : 0191 241 8855

Gail Eglon
Research Nurse Institute of Genetic Medicine
Tel : 0191 241 8609

 

Adult Neurology

Dr J Miller
Consultant Neurologist
Royal Victoria Infirmary
Tel : 0191 233 6161 ext 24948

 

Paediatric Neurology

Please contact on 0191 233 6161

Dr V Ramesh
Consultant Paediatric Neurologist
Royal Victoria Infirmary

Dr R Forsyth
Consultant Paediatric Neurologist
Royal Victoria Infirmary

Dr R McFarland
Consultant Paediatric Neurologist
Royal Victoria Infirmary

Surgery

Mr P Henman
Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon
Royal Victoria Infirmary
Tel : 0191 233 6161 ext 25182

Mr M J Gibson
Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon
Freeman Hospital
Tel : 0191 233 6161 ext 26759

Mrs A Lawson
Consultant Paediatric Surgeon
Royal Victoria Infirmary
Tel : 0191 233 6161 ext 24711

Mr William H Bliss
Consultant Paediatirc Orthopaedic Surgeon
Freeman Hosiptal
Tel : 0191 233 6161

Mr Malik Siddique
Consultant Paediatric Surgeon
Freeman Hosiptal
Tel : 0191 233 6161

 

Cardiology

Dr J P Bourke
Consultant Cardiologist & Senior Lecturer
Freeman Hospital
Tel : 0191 233 6161 ext 26134

Dr J J O’Sullivan
Consultant Paediatric Cardiologist
Freeman Hospital Tel : 0191 233 6161 ext 26146

Dr M J Stewart
Consultant Cardiologist
South Cleveland Hospital
Middlesbrough
Tel : 01642 850 850

Dr K A Willmer
Consultant Cardiologist
West Cumberland Hospital
Whitehaven
Tel : 01946 693 181

Respiratory

Dr Robert Bullock
Consultant Anaesthetist & Head of Home Ventilation Service
Anaesthesiology Dept
Royal Victoria Infirmary
Tel : 0191 233 6161 ext 22535

Dr Simon Baudouin
Consultant Anaesthetist
Royal Victoria Infirmary
Tel : 0191 233 6161 ext 29485

Dr Chris O’Brien / Dr Mike McKean
Consultant Respiratory Paediatrician
Royal Victoria Infirmary
Tel : 0191 233 6161 ext 25089

Victoria Mitchinson
Paediatric Physiotherapist
Royal Victoria Infirmary
Tel : 0191 233 6161

Rachel Patterson
Nurse Specialist
Freeman Hospital
Tel : 0191 233 6161

Dr Sophie West
Consultant in Respiratory Medicine
Freeman Hospital
Tel : 0191 233 6161 ext 37468

 

Teesside

Professor Chris Dodds
Consultant in Respiratory Medicine 
James Cook University Hospital
Middlesbrough
Tel : 01642 854601

Dr Richard Harrison
Consultant in Respiratory Medicine University Hospital of North Tees Stockton
Tel : 01642 617617

Respiratory Outreach Team

Alison Armstrong / Pam Eckford/ Pam Eglon
Home Ventilation Nurse Specialists
Royal Victoria Infirmary
Tel : 0191 233 6161
home.ventilation@nuth.nhs.uk

Andrea Lant
Home Ventilation Team Secretary
Royal Victoria Infirmary
Tel : 0191 233 6161

 

Endocrinology

Professor Simon Pearce
Professor of Endocrinology
Tel : 0191 233 6161 ext 20115

Dr Tim Cheetham
Consultant Paediatric Endocrinologist and Senior Lecturer
Tel : 0191 233 6161 ext 24417

 

Orthotics

Mr Colin Peacock / Mr Paul Charlton
Orthotist
Peacock Medical Group
Benfield Business Park
Walker
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
NE6 4QN
Tel : 0191 276 9600

Institute of Genetic Medicine
International Centre for Life
Central Parkway
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
NE1 3BZ
Tel: 0191 241 8600
Fax : 0191 241 8770

Children’s Outpatient Department
Royal Victoria Infirmary
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
NE1 4LP
Tel : 0191 282 4596

 

Menu